Aviators' Thoughts

My job search and business aviation as seen on AviationWeek

On The Dole Again! Unemployment Strikes Back!

with 13 comments

In the last 4 months I havent been able to blog as much as I would have liked since I was busy with my new job. Things had actually been going along well. The aircraft is absolutely beautiful, the other pilot and I worked well as a crew, and business seemed good and getting better. It looked like the rest of the year was going to go well, then the unexpected happened!

I was informed, quite out of the blue, that the owner has decided to park the airplane rather than fly it so that it does not incur additional depreciation. What this means for me and the other pilot is quite simply we ARE OUT OF A JOB at the end of the month. So, im back looking for work for the 3rd TIME in the last 20 months!

I must admit that my unbridled optimism has taken a big hit in the last 24 hours, but after some time to absorb this shocking news, I realize that my social networking efforts have put me in a much better position than previous occasions.. Heres some examples:

1.) This job, unlike all others, has a written contract. One of the advantages of contracts is that if either party chooses to end the contract voluntarily that there is a financial price to pay. Quite simply, the owner must pay a set amount of money to me to end the contract (which is spelled out). This is a MUCH BETTER position than pervious jobs were my employment could simply be terminated without any further compensation.

2.) I was smart enough to remain close to all my contacts. In this new world of employment there simply is NO JOB SECURITY. Things can and DO change quite quickly. The contacts I made in my social media and networking experience have proved to be invaluable. As soon as I heard the news about my current employment I was IMMEDIATELY on the phone with all my contacts already beating the bushes. I cannot tell you how important it is to maintain your network.  I have NO DOUBT that my extensive network will help me land new employment much more quickly than in the past. Keep in mind, that after my last layoff, I basically knew NO ONE..now I have 100s of contacts both inside and outside the industry. Having this network is the KEY to the new employment paradigm of the 21st century.

3.) I have the incredible fortune to be married to a wonderful and extremely supportive woman. My wife has been by my side through this entire ordeal. She has been the ONE person I can truly lean on. Obviously she was upset when I told her the news, but she said it best herself  when I told her that I felt that I’ve been knocked down one too many times. She said” let’s get up together and keep walking honey, now more than ever.” I truly find newfound strength in her. I continue to be a very lucky man.

4.) I have chosen to see some silver linings in this situation. Unlike last time, I am now current in the Hawker for both corporate and charter operations. Since I am still flying (at least for now). I am FAR more marketable than before and I truly believe that the aviation industry is in a much improved position than when I began this quest.

While I do not relish the though of being back on the street again. I chose NEVER TO GIVE UP! I believe this last job is a stepping stone to a more secure and profitable future for both me and my family. The road ahead has is not easy, but then again it never has been.

Today Is the Day!

Written by tdwnds1

May 12, 2010 at 12:25 pm

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I just saw an article about you (while looking for a job for my out of work pilot husband– 14 months! UGH! ) and decided to find your blog– only to see your upsetting news! So sorry.

    Emily

    May 13, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    • Tell your husband NOT to give up..I grown a large list of contacts to help me find new work.. THIS TIME I was ready.

      What does he fly, perhaps I can help.

      tdwnds1

      May 13, 2010 at 5:51 pm

  2. It’s been a rough go!
    We’ve set tons of hooks (resumes) had a few nibbles, but nothing has stuck! I am at about my wits end trying to find something. I am so ready for a turn around in this economy.

    He’s flown an Embraer 145 and also a Challenger 300.

    We don’t have many contacts– but we are on constant watch for something. Just applied for a gig out of China last week! Tired and frustrated.

    Emily

    May 13, 2010 at 7:29 pm

    • My best adivce is that he put himself on LinkedIn and try to make contacts within the industry. This is still a very much who you know” world. Second, I would recommend a web site called ProPilotWord.com. Its only 10 bucks a year. Im on it myself (Tdwnds1) and its been REALLY helpful. Good bunch of buys. I will also see what I can do on my end. I would think the Challenger would be a better bet for him. Good luck with the China lead, I hope it works out.

      tdwnds1

      May 13, 2010 at 7:34 pm

      • Im sorry you feel that way Robert. While there are a few “knuckleheads” on every message board, I think it is unfair to group everyone on one message board into the same category. Personally, I NEVER talk poorly about any person or employer on the internet, but quality informed discussion should always be encouraged no matter where it comes from. I have made some good contacts from message boards and from other sources as well. My social media experience helped me find more than one job and has given me national exposure. Does that make me a “loser?”

        tdwnds1

        January 12, 2011 at 2:54 pm

      • Robert, feel free to contact me at any time. I would really like to know your side as why you think PPW is for losers and why you exclude them from your hiring list. I feel its important to get all sides of the story.

        tdwnds1

        January 12, 2011 at 3:13 pm

  3. I just saw that you are from Riddle too– which campus?? Jeff graduated from AZ campus back in 2000.

    Emily

    May 13, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    • I graduated from ERAU Daytona though Im slightly older. I graduated back in 92.

      tdwnds1

      May 14, 2010 at 12:35 am

  4. He’s on LinkedIn, and has made a few contacts that way– and climb to 350. I’ll have him check out ProPilotWorld.com tonight. Thanks! 😀

    Emily

    May 13, 2010 at 7:36 pm

    • I noticed on Bizjetjobs.com website this morning a few postings for a Challenger 300 first officer and Captain. I think your husband should look into it. It is also a good job website.

      tdwnds1

      May 17, 2010 at 2:12 pm

      • Awesome,I’ll look into it! Thanks! I know that is has applied with Avant this morning… crossing fingers.

        Emily

        May 18, 2010 at 2:51 pm

      • Good luck! I hope he gets it….

        In the end its all about pilots helping pilots. Aviation is a small world and in these times we need to help one another.

        Clint.

        tdwnds1

        May 18, 2010 at 2:55 pm

  5. I know it. It’s just so depressing over here. Waiting this out is so upsetting! 😦

    Emily

    May 21, 2010 at 6:15 pm


Leave a Reply

