Aviators' Thoughts

My job search and business aviation as seen on AviationWeek

Even A Miracle Needs a Hand, My Job Hunt Finally Ends!!

with 11 comments

I havent been posting much on the blog lately, not because I have nothing to talk about, but because my life has suddenly become so busy. Some wonderous things have happened to me lately and I could not do justice to the whole story until everything was complete. So, as promised, is here is my “Miracle” story and the proof that professionalism, determination and perseverance will ALWAYS pay off in the end…. NEVER EVER GIVE UP!

My life just before Christmas had become much like the life of Joshua Trundle from the Rankin and Bass cartoon “Twas the Night Before Christmas.” It didn’t look like Santa was coming to my house, money was running out and my wife and I were really wondering how we were going to soon pay some of the bills. We dreamed of a happy Christmas,  but that was just a dream at the time. As the holiday drew closer, I became increasingly nervous about our ability to stay afloat, my wife was working harder than ever for what little pay she made and my folks actually had to LEND us money so that we could buy a Christmas tree. I did stay, however very optimistic and like the song in the Christmas cartoon I told my wife to “Hope while I hurry, pray while I plan, well do whats necessary, because even a miracle needs a hand”

And a plan is exactly what I had. I took a chance that many people would pull out of the job search during the Holiday season thinking that no one was hiring. I decided to push my job search harder than ever, with the thought that I would stand out among the crowd that had withdrawn till after the New Year. At first, my efforts seemed futile, but I kept my social media exposure higher than ever and continued to network closely with friends and colleagues. I had also been commenting on blogs from the leaders of other aviation companies and they seemed to like what I had to say, but no interviews or  job offers yet….

Then suddenly, things began to fall into place around the last week of December…

Between Christmas and New Years, my phone started to finally ring. To say it was a surprise would be an understatement!  This was always the time I am told that very little gets done business-wise. First it was from a charter company in Nashville, TN that has its own online blog. They had seen my blog and comments on their postings and found my writing intelligent and thoughtful.  When they had an opening (for which they had over 3900 resumes submitted!) they gave me a call. Thus this opportunity and interview came DIRECTLY from my social media exposure and blogging.

The second call came from a private operator based out of Orlando,FL. I had submitted for this job on-line and they noticed I had a type in their aircraft and that I lived in the local area. “The right place at the right time”  Both these calls came with a few days of each other. I was thrilled! As was my wife. Two interviews in a week after months of very little movement. Could it be a happy New Year after all?

I had the opportunity over the next couple of weeks to personally interview with both companies both on the phone and in person. Each company treated me extremely graciously and gave me an overview of each of their operations. I dared to hope to get two job offers after months of nothing, but went in with realistic goals of having at least one job offer. Both companies were well-run and well placed and I was excited by the prospect of being employed by either one.

To my utter astonishment, I received job offers from BOTH companies on the SAME DAY!!! I couldn’t believe my luck. So much effort, work, and perseverance had FINALLY paid off. They say the aviation business is either “feast or famine” and it was NEVER so true. It was going to be an EXTREMELY difficult choice because of the qualities of both jobs. I had a BIG decision to make, but I didn’t make it alone…

I got on the phone and called my wife! She was nearly in tears of joy. We sat down that night and looked over both offers and wrote down the pros and cons of each one. This went on ALL night. My wife and I discussed exactly what each of us wanted from my new job(s).  Both companies had treated me with great respect and I got great feelings from each. In the end it came down to aircraft (the one in Orlando was a big bigger), Salary (a little more in Orlando) and the fact I wouldnt have to move.  Still, I felt bad about turning down the one in TN since they had chosen me because of my comments on their blog and the quality of the people (including the CEO) that I had met during my interview.

The next day I called the company in TN and graciously turned down their offer. I remarked that they I thought they were a GREAT company and wanted to be honest about the other, somewhat better offer and not play one against the other. They were VERY VERY good about it and certainly respected my decision. As I said, it was a TOUGH choice turning them down and they way they handled my decline of their job offer was a great example of a good company.

I have since signed a contract, starting in February, for the position in Orlando flying a nearly brand new Hawker. I am thrilled and excited about working again and looking forward to going back to recurrent school. Its been a long hard road, but I am GLAD it’s finally at an end.

My mission now is to work as hard as ever for my new employer while helping others find new positions. I would not have had the opportunities that presented themselves in this past year if it wasnt for the help and support of others. I plan to continue to “pay it forward” and help friends and colleagues that are currently out of work. I also plan to continue to have a substantial social media presence online and continue to network within the aviation community. I have so many people to thank and I will address each one in a future blog post.

As Zig Ziglar and Mel Fischer once said “Todays the Day!” and this week TODAY WAS THE DAY!!

It is now time to help others.

Written by tdwnds1

January 18, 2010 at 8:31 pm

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Clint,

    This is Erik Kientzy; we met at the job fair in Daytona Beach. I was there as a representative for GoJet Airlines.

    Anyway, I wanted to say, “Congratulations” on your new job. May it bring you years of fulfillment and prosperity.

    I wish you all the best.

    Warmest regards,

    Erik James Kientzy

    Erik James Kientzy

    January 19, 2010 at 12:43 am

    • Thanks Erik,

      I remember you quite well from the ERAU job fair. The job came from LOTS of hard work through networking, social networking, online applications and of course job fairs. It was by far the toughest “job” Ive ever had. Its nice to get back to work, but I still plan to stay in close touch with my contacts and networks well into the future, not only for myself, but to help others find work.

      tdwnds1

      January 19, 2010 at 4:34 am

  2. Congrats Clint!!! I found your blog while surfing the web up late one night. I am a Delta Boeing 767ER First Officer (12 years) and was really moved by your blog. I came from a Part 135 charter background, IAjet and CE-500, and completely related to your struggles. I was searching for work in the last recession aroung 1992 out of college and done with flight instructing. In my job search I got alot of “no’s” but was looking for only one “yes”. Found a job in CE-500 and IA-jet, later became chief pilot and check airman, and five years later landed with Delta in 1997. If your wife struggled with you and is still at your side, she is a keeper! Congrats again! Michael Simon, LAX/FO

    MIchael Simon

    January 20, 2010 at 5:55 pm

  3. What a great success story! I’ve been following your blog for awhile, and so many people who are looking for work want to stay “under the radar.” It takes a lot of guts to be as visible about your job search as you’ve been. I admire your courage to share your story and I’m sure it gives hope to many, many others who are victims of the economy!

    Paula Williams

    January 27, 2010 at 3:17 pm

  4. Well done, I just read your story here : http://money.cnn.com/2010/02/09/news/economy/hired_blogging/index.htm?section=money_latest&utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter

    And it is amazing and it gives hope!

    I hope you will be delighted by your new position

    Vincent

    February 10, 2010 at 4:50 pm

  5. Clint,

    Great story man! Way to hang in there. Found your site from money.com I admire your persistence and hope to follow in your steps. Enjoy flying the Hawker man, must be a blast!

    Gabe

    Gabe Greener

    February 10, 2010 at 5:33 pm

  6. Clint, I’m delighted your skillful approach and determination yielded a great outcome. No doubt many very talented people have been frustrated by the hunt for a job these past couple of years.

    As a pilot I’m sure you can appreciate the analogy of over-crowded air space and little or no effective air traffic control …

    Many employers, and whatever technology-enabled recruiting solutions they are relying upon, are crushed under the weight of job-seekers applications. Clearly they struggle trying to wean out the very best applicants. Hiring managers may feel overwhelmed by the sheer numbers of applicants and digging through the pile can be daunting.

    Conversely, some employers are willing to look at “just one more” candidate – in the hope that the next candidate will be the STAR! And as a result, drag out the process to exhaustion.

    Congratulations on your new job – and I hope you story helps the frustrated job seeker and the equally perplexed employer get through these challenging times.

    Louis Kadetsky

    February 10, 2010 at 6:17 pm

  7. clint,

    read your story from CNNMoney.com. Congratulation on the new job. i am proud your wife is a keeper. great story too. warm regards from Wollongong.

    krishna darmawan

    February 10, 2010 at 8:29 pm

  8. It’s remarquable to see what you can achieve with perseverance and determination. Good luck at your new work!

    Adi Muranovic

    February 10, 2010 at 9:47 pm

  9. Clint,

    Congratulations on the job! I found your blog through the CNN Money article about you, what a great piece. I am a senior at Western Michigan University majoring in Aviation Administration, and it’s nice to see that through hard work you can still find jobs in the field!

    jbrooks06

    February 11, 2010 at 5:26 pm

  10. Great work!! Now go out there and fly that jet! Use it to create even more jobs in Orlando. Thank the owner for not being afraid to fly his time machine and making his company more competitive.

    B-Rad

    February 12, 2010 at 7:06 pm


Leave a Reply

